Special Needs

Different types of special needs

Different types of special needs

There are 4 main categories for special needs:

1. Behavioural, emotional and social Development Needs

  • ADHD
  • Emotional Behavioural Disorder (EBD)
  • Oppositional Defiant Disorder
  • Disruptive Behaviour Disorder
  • Attachment Disorder
  • Temper Tantrums
  • Obsessive Compulsive Disorder

2. Cognition & Learning

  • Specific Learning Difficulty (SpLD) – Dyslexia, Dyscalculia, Dyspraxia
  • Moderate Learning Difficulty (MLD) – numeracy and literacy, speech or language delay, low self-esteem or concentration or under developed social skills.
  • Severe Learning Difficulty (SLD) – significant intellectual or cognitive impairments. Mobility, communication, perception or co-ordination difficulties.
  • Profound & Multiple Learning Difficulty (PMLD) – physical disabilities or sensory impairment.

3. Communication & Interaction Needs

  • Speech, Language and Communication Needs (SLCN)
  • Autistic Spectrum Disorder (ASD)

4. Physical & Sensory Needs

  • Visual Impairment (VI)
  • Hearing Impairment (HI)
  • Multi-Sensory Impairment (MSI)
  • Physical Disability (PD)

More detailed information on the different types of disabilities